window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-167755780-5');

Game Day Overview

Game Conduct:

  • Each team shall provide a competent scorer and timekeeper.

Timing Rules:

  • Two minute warmup
  • Two 20 minute halves
  • Half time – 2 minutes
  • Each team is entitled to two time-outs per half
  • No time-outs allowed in the last 3 minutes of the first half
  • The clock will stop for all whistles during the last 2 minutes of the second half


Mercy Rule:

  • This rule shall apply to all games EXCEPT grading games and finals.
  • It shall apply to all age groups whenever one team has a lead of 20 points or more.
  • Coaches do not have the option not to claim use of the rule if losing by 20 points or more.


3 point Line:

  • The three-point rule does not apply for age groups U12 and lower. The EDJBA uses the old three point line for age groups U13 and above.


Free Throw Line:

  • The free throw line is advanced 1.8 metres for under 8 & 9 teams, and 1 metre for under 10, 11 & 12 teams.


Ball Size:

  • The following size basketball will be used:
Age Group  Boys  Girls
Under 8 to Under 11 (inclusive)  Size 5  Size 5
Under 12 to Under 14 (inclusive)  Size 6  Size 6
Under 15 and older  Size 7  Size 6


Seconds in the Key:

  • The 3 second rule is changed to 5 seconds for age groups under 12 and lower.



  • Teams shall be penalised 2 points for each player out of uniform (maximum of 10 pts per team). Shorts, singlet and numbers must be of uniform colour and not seriously faded. Number 00 is illegal and incur automatic uniform penalty from round three.


A summary of rules for different age groups is available here: Summary of EDJBA rules for different age groups


Balwyn (BWN) Red White Eltham, Blackburn
Banyule (BY) White Blue Warrandyte, Fairfield
Blackburn (BV) Orange White Eltham, Balwyn, Whitehorse
Bulleen (BT) Blue Yellow
Collingwood (CW) Black White
Darebin (DG) Light Blue White Koonung
Doncaster (D) Green White Pascoe Vale
Doreen (DOR) Navy Blue Gold Park Orchards, Whitehorse
Eltham (E) Red Black Balwyn, Blackburn
Fairfield (FS) White Navy / Orange Banyule, Warrandyte
Greenhills (GH) Dark Green Yellow
Hawthorn (HAW) Navy Green Collingwood, Doreen, Mitcham, Park Orchards, Whitehorse, Yarra
Ivanhoe (IVE) Yellow Blue
Koonung (KN) Light Blue Black
Mill Park Titans (MPT) Orange White
Mitcham (MT) Purple White
Park Orchards (PK) Dark Blue White Whitehorse
Pascoe Vale (PVP) Light Green None Doncaster
Warrandyte (WR) White Black Banyule, Fairfield
Whitehorse (WHH) Dark Blue White Park Orchards, Blackburn
Yarra (YE) Black Yellow Collingwood  

Purchase an official EDJBA Game Ball

Click here to purchase through Molten

Zone Defence Complaint

Click here to lodge a Zone Defence Complaint

Non Molten Game Ball feedback

Click here to provide feedback about a game where a non Molten game ball was used

Our Proud Sponsors